Biography
Sonja Leutwyler
Mezzo - soprano
ABOUT US
NEWS
HOME
GERMAN
K
ultur
K
Regine Dierse  Artists Management
ontor
SOPRANO
TENOR
Julia Faylenbogen Mezzosopran,Alt
Julia Faylenbogen Mezzosopran,Alt
Photo: Marco Borggreve

Sonja Leutwyler was born in Zürich. She studied viola and voice at the Zurich University of the Arts and the University of Music and Performing Arts in Munich with Maria Cavazza, Christian Gerhaher and Helmut Deutsch. While studying, she sang roles at the Prinzregenten Theatre Munich including Sesto, Larina and Dorabella.

Sonja Leutwyler was awarded a scholarship by the Richard Wagner Society.

She has absolute pitch, and a remarkable three-octave range.


She was employed as a soloist at the State Theatre on Gärtnerplatz München where she sang roles including Cherubino, 2nd Lady, Mercedes, Hänsel and Suzuki. Further engagements took her to the Margravial Opera House Bayreuth (Princess Galsuinde/ Fredegunda), the Cuvilliés Theatre Munich (Cherubino) and the Teatro Comunale di Bologna (Il canto sospeso). At the Zürich Opera House, she sang in Stravinsky’s The Nightingale (Maid/ Death) in a production for children in 2017, and was engaged for the following season as Idamante/ Idomeneo in another production for children.

She recently sang a leading role in the opera “Kein Licht” by Philippe Manoury in an Opéra-Comique Paris production, and then gave guest appearances with the production at the Croatian National Theatre in Zagreb and at the Grand Théâtre de Luxembourg.


As a concert soloist, Sonja Leutwyler has performed with renowned orchestras such as the Bamberg Symphony, the Munich Radio Orchestra conducted by Ulf Schirmer, the Zurich and Stuttgart Chamber Orchestras and the Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra conducted by Helmut Rilling. She is a welcome guest at major festivals such as the Richard Strauss Festival Garmisch-Partenkirchen, the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, the Beethoven Festival in Bonn, the Musikfest Stuttgart, as well as the St. Martin-in-the-Fields concert series London. She performs regularly in the Tonhalle Zürich and in the Vienna Konzerthaus. Furthermore, the mezzosoprano is collaborating on an ongoing basis with musicians from the Vienna Philharmonic.


As a versatile singer, Sonja Leutwyler is also much in demand for her interpretations of contemporary works. She performed at the Prinzregenten Theatre Munich with the Munich Radio Orchestra in one of the main roles (Stella) in Elliot Carter’s opera “What Next“. With the RSO Vienna she sang in the opening concert of the “Wien Modern” series conducted by Cornelius Meister, and she took part in a concert tour of Italy with works by Luigi Nono conducted by Roberto Abbado. The widow of the composer Ernst Krenek invited Sonja Leutwyler to sing works by her husband together with musicians from the Vienna Philharmonic on a US concert tour. She recently performed Berio’s “Folksongs” in a number of concert halls in Switzerland with great success.


High points of the past three years include Mendelssohn’s Walpurgisnacht at the Rheingau Musik Festival conducted by Andrés Orozco-Estrada with the hr-Sinfonieorchester, concerts and a CD recording with the RSO Vienna in the Viennese Konzerthaus, a solo evening with arias by Haydn and Vivaldi with the Camerata Zürich in the Tonhalle Zürich, J.S. Bach’s St John Passion with the Arctic Philharmonic Orchestra in Tromsø, C.P.E. Bach’s Magnificat with the Zurich Chamber Orchestra conducted by Diego Fasolis, and a Lieder recital in the Tonhalle Maag Zürich.

In July 2018, her CD Hymne à la beauté was released by Solo Musica and it received the Pizzicato Supersonic Award.



www.sonjaleutwyler.com

Last Update March 2019

Biographie
Sonja Leutwyler
Mezzosopran / Alt
ÜBER UNS
AKTUELLES
HOME
ENGLISH
K
ultur
K
Regine Dierse  Artists Management
ontor
Julia Faylenbogen Mezzosopran,Alt
Julia Faylenbogen Mezzosopran,Alt

Sonja Leutwyler wurde in Zürich geboren. Sie studierte Viola und Gesang an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste und an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in München bei Maria Cavazza, Christian Gerhaher und Helmut Deutsch. Noch während des Studiums sang sie u.a. am Prinzregententheater München Partien wie Sesto, Larina und Dorabella.

Sonja Leutwyler ist Stipendiatin des Richard Wagner Verbandes.

Sie verfügt über ein absolutes Gehör und den beachtlichen Tonumfang von drei Oktaven.


Vier Jahre war sie als Solistin am Staatstheater am Gärtnerplatz München engagiert und sang u.a. Partien wie Cherubino, 2. Dame, Mercedes, Hänsel und Suzuki. Weitere Engagements führten sie ans Markgräfliche Opernhaus Bayreuth (Prinzessin Galsuinde/ Fredegunda), ans Cuvilliés-Theater München (Cherubino) sowie ans Teatro Comunale di Bologna (Il canto sospeso). Am Opernhaus Zürich sang sie 2017 in einer Produktion für Kinder Strawinskys Le Rossignol (Magd/ Tod) und wurde für die darauffolgende Spielzeit als Idamante/ Idomeneo für eine weitere Kinderproduktion verpflichtet.

Kürzlich sang sie in einer Produktion der Opéra Comique Paris eine Hauptpartie in der Oper “Kein Licht“ von Philippe Manoury und gab mit dieser Produktion Gastspiele am Nationaltheater Zagreb und am Grand Théâtre de Luxembourg.


Als Konzertsolistin tritt Sonja Leutwyler mit namhaften Orchestern wie z.B. den Bamberger Symphonikern, dem Münchner Rundfunkorchester unter der Leitung von Ulf Schirmer, dem Zürcher- und dem Stuttgarter Kammerorchester und dem Radio Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR unter der Leitung von Helmut Rilling auf. Sie ist gern gesehener Gast bei bedeutenden Festivals wie dem Richard Strauss Festival Garmisch-Partenkirchen, den Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, dem Beethovenfest Bonn, dem Musikfest Stuttgart sowie bei den St. Martin-in-the-Fields concert series London und tritt regelmäßig in der Tonhalle Zürich und im Wiener Konzerthaus auf. Des weiteren verbindet die Mezzosopranistin eine kontinuierliche Zusammenarbeit mit Musikern der Wiener Philharmoniker.


Sonja Leutwyler ist als vielseitige Sängerin ebenfalls sehr gefragt für ihre Interpretationen zeitgenössischer Werke. Am Prinzregententheater München war sie in einer der Hauptpartien (Stella) in Elliot Carters Oper “What Next“ mit dem Münchner Rundfunkorchester zu erleben. Mit dem RSO Wien sang sie als Solistin im Eröffnungskonzert der Reihe “Wien Modern“ unter der Leitung von Cornelius Meister und mit Werken von Luigi Nono war sie auf einer Italien-Konzertreise unter der Leitung von Roberto Abbado zu erleben. Die Witwe des Komponisten Ernst Krenek hat Sonja Leutwyler eingeladen, Werke ihres Mannes mit Musikern der Wiener Philharmoniker auf einer USA-Konzerttournee zu singen. Kürzlich gestaltete sie mit grossem Erfolg Berios “Folksongs“ in zahlreichen Konzertsälen der Schweiz.


Höhepunkte der letzten drei Jahre waren Mendelssohns Walpurgisnacht beim Rheingau Musik Festival unter der Leitung von Andrés Orozco-Estrada mit dem hr-Sinfonieorchester, Konzerte und CD-Aufnahme mit dem RSO Wien im Wiener Konzerthaus, ein Soloabend mit Arien von Haydn und Vivaldi mit der Camerata Zürich in der Tonhalle Zürich, J.S. Bachs Johannespassion mit dem Arctic Philharmonic Orchestra in Tromsø, CPE Bachs Magnificat mit dem Zürcher Kammerorchester unter der Leitung von Diego Fasolis, sowie ein Liederabend in der Tonhalle Maag Zürich.

Im Juli 2018 ist ihre CD Hymne à la beauté bei Solo Musica erschienen und wurde mit dem Pizzicato Supersonic Award ausgezeichnet.



www.sonjaleutwyler.com


Stand Februar 2019



Foto: Marco Borggreve